Welcome to the Home Page of the Southwest Florida Watershed Council

The mission of the Southwest Florida Watershed Council is to protect, conserve, manage and/or restore the land and water resources of the Caloosahatchee and Big Cypress Watersheds.   Through increased awareness, participation and cooperation among all stakeholders in consensus building, planning and decision making, we are working to meet the economic, natural and cultural needs for this and succeeding generations.

The Southwest Florida Watershed Council is a grass-roots, multi-county coalition of individuals, organizations, agencies and businesses that have come together to address the issues affecting the Caloosahatchee and Big Cypress watersheds.   The purpose of the Watershed Council is to ensure that the interests and concerns of all stakeholders are addressed, and that long term management strategies balance the needs of this region’s growth and the natural systems upon which our economy and quality of life depend.   

To learn more about the goals of the Watershed Council, visit our Information page.  Membership is open to all.   Any individual, group or business that wants to ensure that decisions affecting the watershed are based on the best science available and balance the needs of all stakeholders should see our Membership form for more information on how to join.

Lee County Graphic Population Change since 1930
(PowerPoint-large file 12.4mb)

Today is

John Cassani: Water reform in Florida is deja vu

Full text of editorial


SWFWC Letter to UF Water Institute on “Moving Water South”


The Risks of Cheap Water NY Times 10/14

Florida Goes Down the Drain NY Times 9/14

Technical Review of Options to Move Water from Lake Okeechobee to the Everglades (0914)

2014 WC Officers and Board of Directors:

John Cassani, Chair

Mary Rawl, Vice Chair

Sharon Arnold, Treasurer

James Evans, Secretary

Karen Andress

Noel Andress

John Capece

Donald Duke

Bill Hammond

Ed Hanlon

Jennifer Hecker

Ray Judah

Tamara Pigott

Pete Quasius

Greg Rawl

Rae Ann Wessel

Ross Wherry